July Cup Betting

Last Updated 7 days ago | Commercial content | 18+

Run over 6f, the July Cup is a Group One flat horse race that is staged at Newmarket’s July Meeting each year. The July Cup Betting is always one of the highlights at the three-day meeting and in recent years we’ve seen 5 of the last 18 July Cup betting favourites win the race.

The July Cup 2020 will be staged on Saturday 11th July.

July Cup New Market Race Course

Autumn race in Newmarket, GB. Photo Credit: Flickr. CC BY 2.0

July Cup Odds

You can expect to see the July Cup betting odds in most of the leading bookmakers ante-post section as soon as the new flat season gets going – around May.

The odds will then change in the lead-up to the race based on the results of other big sprinting races that take place before the July Cup. Like the Diamond Jubilee Stakes, King Stand Stakes and the Commonwealth Cup – all run at Royal Ascot the previous month.

Then, once the final July Cup runners are announced – two days before the race – the July Cup 2020 betting will become more popular.

July Cup Runners

July Cup runners that fared well at Royal Ascot in other leading sprint races – like the Kings Stand and Diamond Jubilee Stakes – often then head to the July Cup as their next target.

The Newmarket’s July Festival is also one of the richest sprint races in Europe so it always attracts some of the best sprinters from all over the world.

The powerful Irish yard of Aidan O’Brien have saddled the winner of the July Cup for the last two seasons and won 5 July Cups in total.

Their Ten Sovereigns was 2019 July Cup winner, who was ridden by leading jockey Ryan Moore, who has also won the last two renewals of the July Cup.

Therefore, if the Aidan O’Brien yard have any July Cup runners in 2020 you can expect them to figure prominently in the Darley July Cup betting markets.

July Cup Tips

In the build-up to the race there are always many July Cup tips on offer from horse racing pundits – these can often influence the July Cup betting markets if certain well-known horse racing tipsters highlight the same horses.

Other July Cup tips to note are that we’ve seen five winning favourites win the race in the last 18 years, while four of the last five July Cup winners were aged 3 years-old.

July Cup Betting Trends

Being a race steeped in history there are many betting trends to take into consideration before betting on the Darley July Cup.

We’ve listed some of the key July Cup betting trends below, but it’s interesting that 17 of the last 18 July Cup winners were aged 5 or younger, while 14 of the last 18 successful July Cup runners had won a Group One or Two in the past and had also run between 1-3 times already that season.

Recent July Cup Winners:

  • 2019 Ten Sovereigns (9/2)
  • 2018 U S Navy Flag (8/1)
  • 2017 Harry Angel (9/2)
  • 2016 Limato (9/2 fav)
  • 2015 Muhaarar (2/1 jfav)
  • 2014 Slade Power (7/4 fav)
  • 2013 Lethal Force (9/2)
  • 2012 Mayson (20/1)
  • 2011 Dream Ahead (7/1)
  • 2010 Starspangledbanner (2/1 fav)
  • 2009 Fleeting Spirit (12/1)
  • 2008 Marchand d’Or (5/2 fav)
  • 2007 Sakhee’s Secret (9/2)
  • 2006 Les Arcs (10/1)
  • 2005 Pastoral Pursuits (22/1)
  • 2004 Frizzante (14/1)
  • 2003 Oasis Dream (9/2)
  • 2002 Continent (12/1)

July Cup Betting Trends:

  • 17/18 – Aged 5 or younger
  • 16/18 – Had won over 6f before
  • 15/18 – Ran at Royal Ascot last time out
  • 15/18 – Returned 12/1 or shorter in the betting
  • 14/18 – Had between 1-3 previous runs that season
  • 14/18 – Had won a Group 1 or 2 race before
  • 13/18 – Won by a horse trained in the UK
  • 10/18 – Placed last time out
  • 9/18 – Ran last time out in either the King’s Stand Stakes or Diamond Jubilee
  • 9/18 – Unplaced favourites
  • 6/18 – Won their previous race
  • 5/18 – Winning favourites
  • 5/18 – Trained by Aidan O’Brien
  • 4/18 – Irish-trained winners
  • 2/18 – Trained By Hughie Morrison
  • 1/18 – French-trained winners
  • The average winning SP in the last 17 years is 8/1
  • Just one horse aged older than 5 has won since 1968
  • Aidan O’Brien has won the race 5 times before (1999, 2001, 2010, 2018 & 2019)

July Cup Bookmakers

All the leading bookmakers – like Ladbrokes, Coral and Paddy Power will have July Cup odds prior to the race.

In the months before the July Cup, these bookmakers will have the July Cup betting in their ante-post sections too.

Many bookmakers will have July Cup offers in the days before the day – like enhanced place terms or enhanced betting odds.

July Cup History

The July Cup Festival is staged over three days each season – normally around the middle of the month (Thursday, Friday and Saturday).

There is also plenty of July Cup history, with the first renewal of the July Cup being run in 1876. The first two winners were actually the same horse – Springfield (1876 and 1877) and in it’s current format is sponsored by Darley.